The Truth About Independent Writers and the Indie Community….

Indie Writers. There are lots of mixed opinions on this one floating out there. I thought I’d share mine from real experience. Here’s one truth, and I’ll explain why:

Indie Support

As you may or may not know, I have spent the last five to six years working on Empyreal Illusions and Awakening the Fire: The Inferno Unleashed series. Others may follow in the saga, but that is neither here nor there. It was not until recently that I really started networking and met some amazing people.

Rewind, yet again.

I attended the Florida Writer’s Association annual conference in October of 2012 in Lake Mary, Florida. It was a real eye opener. Prior to this I had not met any other authors, let alone anyone who really shared my love for what I do – write. I learned a lot of things about my manuscript and ways in which I can improve it. I met some awesome people and got my first look into the world of people who have been writing for years. I met agents, publishers, book designers, you name it.

Many of these authors were independents. They did not have an agent or publisher and were searching for the same. That did not stop them from writing their own works and from offering endless support to me and others. This includes critiquing, discussing, offering tips and advice, and sharing lessons that they, too, have learned about the publishing and writing industry today.

Then there are the group of amazing indie authors who I had the pleasure of communicating with online. Who would have known that a single tweet would help me meet some of the most amazing people I know to date? Really. They have shown me more support than I could ever imaging. Everything I was blessed to receive at the Writers Conference has been amplified tenfold, no, a hundredfold.

I announced that I was going to be having my cover reveal for Empyreal Illusions in 7 days and received an outcry of support. Over a dozen people corresponded with me in less than an hour to say they would be willing to help with the reveal. Bloggers, reviewers, and authors who do not know me from a stranger in the grocery store came to my aid like without delay. Even after writing for more than ten years, I still cannot find the right words to explain how amazing of a blessing this is.

This is why I love the indie community. Many of the indie authors and community members I know are amazing at their craft. They just have not yet had the fortune to be discovered yet. Whether it is the authors, the formatters, the editors, or even the book designers, everyone pulls together and supports one another. It is a marvel that has left me astounded from the moment I was lucky enough to become part of them, and I think it truly is a wonderful thing. I can’t imagine how I managed to go the first five years of working on writing / proofing The Inferno Unleashed series without their help, friendship, and support, let alone write my first novel, Descendant of Strife, years ago.

Hats off to you, indie community. You are the best.

Leave a Reply

  • My Community

candaceknoebel.wordpress.com/

Paranormal & Fantasy Author

Lucy's Lit Lovin' Blog

Reading and writing blog!

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

Dragonchild Lore

Home of Author Andrea L. Staum

Let's Reach Success

Habits, purpose and a little bit of zen.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Author Keren Hughes

Author of NA Contemporary Romance

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Adrianna Davis

Author extraordinaire

One Lyric at a Time

Because everyone needs music in their life

Amber Skye Forbes

Writing Words With the Tips of My Toes

LoungeTalkRadio

Promoting Authors, Artists and Musicians

Gabriel Lucatero

Fiction Writer, Illegal Immigrant

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Nightwolf A.D.E.

Art, Design, Editing, and the Nuances of Storytelling According to Kisa Whipkey

