Easter on a New Spring….

This Easter weekend that recently passed was rather relaxing. It was one of those rare days that I spent partially with family, partially editing and writing new material, with absolutely no worries about the work week ahead. Kind of nice, those blue moon occasions.

I also had the chance to finish editing the first two chapters of my new book and have two people read them (beta), just to see if the story was going in the right direction. Spring is here, right? New Spring, New Focus, New Project!

What I was NOT expecting was to have them absolutely love it. I mean, wow.  Their reaction was better than anything I could imgine.

The reason I say this is because this is a Young Adult romance. I’ve typically only written fantasy fiction, both adult and Young Adult, and many of the novels I have planned as future projects are also fantasy-fiction. Some have even said that romance is a weak topic, and that men shouldn’t write it. Hah!

This time around, though, I decided to forgo the magic, angels, swords, dystopia, and other elements of fantasy novels (Basically, some of the key elements of Empyreal Illusions and Awakening the Fire). Gone are the pyromancers, the volcanic lands where the World Serpent lies, the narrow bridge leading to the unknown…. Instead, The Lioness has festivals and harps, love and innocent passion, cold nights and tear-filled embraces. Basically, it’s a complete 180* from anything I’ve ever done and it’s coming out 180x better than I could have ever imagined.

My new novel  is a story of a 17 year old girl’s quest to understand love and find her true love, all the while searching for her place in the world.

It makes me realize that you can put anything you set your mind to. Never would I have believed that I would actually enjoy writing a Young Adult Romance as much – if not more, in some ways – as much as I do Fantasy Fiction!

I can’t wait to see how this story is going to turn out. Well, I’ve already planned the ending and the route getting there, but journeying along with my characters and being there with them through thick and thin is just as (if not more!) rewarding!

Moral of the Story: Don’t ever limit yourself or think you can’t do something. Because you can. And when you do, it’ll rock your socks off. 🙂

Burning Heart

Leave a Reply

  • My Community

candaceknoebel.wordpress.com/

Paranormal & Fantasy Author

Lucy's Lit Lovin' Blog

Reading and writing blog!

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

Dragonchild Lore

Home of Author Andrea L. Staum

Let's Reach Success

Habits, purpose and a little bit of zen.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Author Keren Hughes

Author of NA Contemporary Romance

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Adrianna Davis

Author extraordinaire

One Lyric at a Time

Because everyone needs music in their life

Amber Skye Forbes

Writing Words With the Tips of My Toes

LoungeTalkRadio

Promoting Authors, Artists and Musicians

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Nightwolf A.D.E.

Art, Design, Editing, and the Nuances of Storytelling According to Kisa Whipkey

