The Muse of Music

Quill and Pen

It’s funny sometimes, really, how inspirational music can be to a writer. No, maybe funny isn’t the right word. It’s more like…awesome, convenient, and very relieving. All in one.

I’ve been writing for years now and a single line in a song or just the overall feel of one has sparked some of my best ideas. On the same note, there are many songs that just remind me of a character in one of my novels or a scene (written and still in brainstorm mode). Every time I hear them I cannot help but mentally escape from the real world and all its harsh news to a world that I’ve created in my head. It gets to the point even that whenever I hear that song, that’s all I can really do. Just thinking about the scene playing out in my head as I listen to the song sometimes helps me develop my writing and even get over brief instances of the dreaded writer’s block. 

In fact, I find it 10x easier to write while I have music in the background than in silence! Something about listening to the music that complements the already-wandering thoughts of my mind as I write helps me focus. It’s been especially useful as I plan out my next novel, a YA Romance with a tinge of fantasy.

I’m not sure if anyone else out there shares the same sentiment, but I figured I’d post this and see.

Comments
2 Responses to “The Muse of Music”
  1. Megan Hand says:

    So true! Do you remember my musical qualifier? Goosebumps 🙂 Gets me in the writing mood every time.

Leave a Reply

  • My Community

candaceknoebel.wordpress.com/

Paranormal & Fantasy Author

Lucy's Lit Lovin' Blog

Reading and writing blog!

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

Dragonchild Lore

Home of Author Andrea L. Staum

Let's Reach Success

Habits, purpose and a little bit of zen.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Author Keren Hughes

Author of NA Contemporary Romance

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Adrianna Davis

Author extraordinaire

One Lyric at a Time

Because everyone needs music in their life

Amber Skye Forbes

Writing Words With the Tips of My Toes

LoungeTalkRadio

Promoting Authors, Artists and Musicians

Gabriel Lucatero

Fiction Writer, Illegal Immigrant

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Nightwolf A.D.E.

Art, Design, Editing, and the Nuances of Storytelling According to Kisa Whipkey

